Maryland State Firemen's Association

Future Convention Dates
June 19-25, 2020
June 18-24, 2021

June 12-17, 2022

Executive Committee Meetings
September 21 and 22, 2019
Bay District Volunteer Fire Department

December 7 and 8, 2019
Suderlersville Volunteer Fire Department

March 28 and 29, 2019
Level Fire Company

July 9, 2019
July 7, 2019
Chestertown VFC's Rescue for Sale
July 7, 2019
Chestertown VFC's Chicken BBQ
July 3, 2019
Parade, Antique Muster and Safety Day
July 2, 2019
View All Announcements

Online Calendar
Next Seven Days
July 24, 2019
Harford County Vol. Fire and Ambulance Association
Bel Air VFC
July 27, 2019
Car, Truck & Motorcycle Show
Brunswick Maryland
July 27, 2019
July 27, 2019
Leitersburg safety day/apparatus display
Leitersburg vol fire dept.
July 28, 2019
MSFA Cancer Committee Meeting
17921 Brooke Road Sandy Spring, Maryland 20860
View All Events


Purpose of Award:Recognition of an individuals contributions and determination in promoting the betterment of Maryland fire, rescue and emergency medical services through successful legislation and the legislative process.

Award Sponsor: Harford-Cecil Volunteer Firemen’s Association

Award Administered By:M.S.F.A. Legislative Committee

Background:The Senator William H. Amoss Memorial Legislative Award was created to honor an individual who served over 20 years actively representing the Maryland fire, rescue and emergency medical services, throughout the State, in a legislative capacity both in the House of Delegates and the State Senate. In 1998, the Maryland General Assembly recognized Senator Amoss’ dedication to the Maryland fire, rescue and emergency medical services be renaming Senate Bill 508, the “Senator William H. Amoss Fund.” Introduced in 1985 by Senator Amoss, the 508 Bill was created to financially assist the Maryland fire, rescue and emergency medical services departments on an annual basis. This award was presented by the Harford-Cecil Volunteer Firemen’s Association and accepted by the Executive Committee in 1999.

Award Qualifications: In order for a candidate to be considered for this award, he/she must meet at least (1) one of the following criteria:

  1. Be a duly elected legislative official representing a Maryland municipality, a Maryland county, the State of Maryland or the Federal Government.

  2. Be a member of the M.S.F.A. Legislative Committee.

  3. Be a member of a county emergency services association’s legislative committee that is recognized by the M.S.F.A.

  4. Be a member of a regional emergency services association’s legislative committee that is recognized by the M.S.F.A.

  5. Be a state citizen who is not a member of a fire/EMS/rescue department or company.

Award Rules:

1. All nominations must be submitted by a representative of an active member company or department, in good standing, of the MSFA. 

2. All nominations must be in written form, on an individual basis, and submitted on company or department letterhead or stationary. A photograph of the nominee shall also be submitted. 

3. All nominations must include the following: 

A. A letter of recommendation/resume 

B. Accomplishments of the nominee 

4. All nominations must be received by May 1st of each year. 

5. The judges shall be the MSFA Legislative Committee. 

6. All nominations are to be submitted to: Chairman, MSFA Legislative Committee, 17 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401.

Previous Recipients:

1999    Senator William H. Amoss

2000    Delegate Norman Conway

2000    Charles W. Riley, P.P.

2001    Senator Thomas M. Middleton

2002    Delegate John F. Wood

2003    Bernard J. Smith, P.P.

2004    Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr.

2005    C. Daniel Davis, Jr., P.P.

2005    Pat Gainer – MIEMSS

2005    James Brown - MIEMSS

2006    Delegate Norman Conway

2007    Delegate James Malone, Jr.

2008    Delegate Norman Conway

2009    Senator Barry Glassman

2010    Delegate Norman Conway

2011    Delegate James E. Malone, Jr.

2011    Senator Roy Dyson

2012    State Fire Marshal William Barnard

2012    Senator Roy Dyson

2012    Delegate James E. Malone, Jr. 

2012    C. Daniel Davis, P.P.

2012    Richard Yinger, P.P.

2013    Delegate John Bohanan

2014    Delegate Norman Conway

2015    Senator James N. Mathias, Jr.

2015    Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

2015    Delegate Dana M. Stein

2016    Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

2016    Delegate Shree Sample-Hughes

2016    Richard Smith

2017    Delegate Marvin E. Homes, Jr.

2017    Delegate Deborah Rey

2018    Senator Edward J. Kasemeyer

2018    Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh

2019    Senator C. Kagan

2019    Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh

2019    Johnie F. Roth, Jr., P.P.



Safer Grant Tuition
Reimbursement Program

The Volunteer Trumpet!

Current Issue
of the Trumpet

Read how VCAF can help you.

File Your 2019 MSFA Company Credentials and Statistical Report here!

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program


Recruitment and Retention Grant

Scholarship Grant Form

Recruitment & Retention Toolbox

For more information about joining a local volunteer deparment please call

Subscribe to
MSFA Mailing List

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Un-Subscribe to MSFA Mailing List


Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Maryland State Firemen's Association
Doyle Cox, P.P.
29132 Superior Circle
Easton, MD 21601

Emergency Dial 911
Phone: 443-532-1416
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)