Maryland State Firemen's Association

Future Convention Dates
June 19-25, 2020
June 18-24, 2021

June 12-17, 2022

Executive Committee Meetings
September 21 and 22, 2019
Bay District Volunteer Fire Department

December 7 and 8, 2019
Suderlersville Volunteer Fire Department

March 28 and 29, 2019
Level Fire Company

July 9, 2019
July 7, 2019
Chestertown VFC's Rescue for Sale
July 7, 2019
Chestertown VFC's Chicken BBQ
July 3, 2019
Parade, Antique Muster and Safety Day
July 2, 2019
View All Announcements

Online Calendar
Next Seven Days
July 24, 2019
Harford County Vol. Fire and Ambulance Association
Bel Air VFC
July 27, 2019
Car, Truck & Motorcycle Show
Brunswick Maryland
July 27, 2019
July 27, 2019
Leitersburg safety day/apparatus display
Leitersburg vol fire dept.
July 28, 2019
MSFA Cancer Committee Meeting
17921 Brooke Road Sandy Spring, Maryland 20860
View All Events

C. Oscar Baker Rookie Of The Year Award

Purpose of Award: Recognition of the Outstanding Rookie Firefighter/EMS Provider
Award Sponsor: Mount Airy Volunteer Fire Company
Award Administered By: Mount Airy Volunteer Fire Company and the elected officers of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association
Background: The Past President C. Oscar Baker Rookie of the Year Award was established by the Mount Airy Volunteer Fire Company and accepted by the Maryland State Firemen’s Association (MSFA) Executive Committee in 2002.  The award was established to honor Past President C. Oscar Baker for his sixty (60) years of active service to the citizens of Mount Airy, the surrounding communities, Carroll County and the State of Maryland.  Past President Baker has served as President of the Mount Airy Volunteer Fire Company, President of the Carroll County Volunteer Firemen’s Association and President of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association (1978-79).  Past President Baker retired as Fire Chief of the National Bureau of Standards Fire Department and then served as the Volunteer Coordinator for Carroll County for several years.  He was a field instructor for the Fire Service Extension and later the Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute for several decades.  Past President Baker has served as Chairman of several committees of the MSFA, including:  the Training Committee, Hall of Fame and the Centennial Committee.  The Mount Airy Volunteer Fire Company sees it fitting to honor a person beginning their emergency service career with an award to encourage them to reach the high level of service and dedication to our citizens that Past President C. Oscar Baker exemplifies.  This award is to be presented annual at the Convention and Conference of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association.
Award Rules:              

1. Nominee must be from a member company or department of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association. 

2. Any active member of a member company or department of the MSFA may submit the name of a nominee for the award. 

3. Junior/Cadet members of a member company or department are NOT eligible for this award. Time spent as a Junior/Cadet member does not count towards the 24 months of service. 

4. Nominee must be an active Senior Member of the sponsoring company or department, and at least 17 years of age at the time of award application. 

5. Nominee must have at least 6 months, but less than 24 months of active membership with the sponsoring company or department, calculated from the April 15th application due date. 

6. A nominee that transfers from one company or department to another is not eligible for the award unless their total time of membership is less than 24 months combined. 

7. Nominations in the form of a resume must be submitted on an individual basis only and on official company or department letterhead or stationary. All entries received, will be reviewed for eligibility prior to judging. 

8. Nominations must be submitted to, and received by the MSFA Secretary no later than April 15th of each year. Late entries will NOT be considered. 

9. All of the elected officers of the MSFA will judge nominees. 

10. The mailing address for entries is: Doyle E. Cox, Secretary, Maryland State Firemen's Association, 29132 Superior Circle, Easton, MD 21601 

Upon selection of the winner of the award, the President of Mount Airy Volunteer Fire Company shall be notified no later than May 15th of the selection.  This will allow for preparation of the personal trophy and the recording of the individual’s name on the master trophy.
The master trophy will have the date of the award, name, and company or department of the recipient engraved thereon and will, for one year from date of presentation until the next MSFA annual Convention and Cconference, remain in the responsible custody of the honored individual's company or department.  The personal trophy also, suitably endorsed will be presented to the individual to covet and keep.  The selected award winner will also receive the C. Oscar Baker Rookie of the Year Medal and Ribbon Bar, which was approved by the MSFA Executive Committee in 2002.  The ribbon is blue/red and the gold medal is inscribed, Oscar Baker Rookie of the Year, with the year and the MSFA Seal in the center.        
Previous Recipients:


Year   Name   Department   County
2002   Chris McDonald   Maryland City   Anne Arundel
2003   Matthew Ross   Odenton   Anne Arundel
2004   Derek R. Dods   Mt. Airy   Carroll
2005   Rachel Goucher   Middletown   Frederick
2006   Jeffery A. Martin   Potomac Valley   Washington 
2007   Jennifer Chafin   Branchville   Prince George's
2008   Michael Offutt   Woodsboro   Frederick
2009   Charles Cadden   Arbutus   Baltimore
2010   Tyler Olson   Ferndale   Anne Arundel
2011   Brandy Guy   Seventh District VFD   St. Mary's
2012   Nicholas Haspert   Winfield Community   Carroll
2013   Jesse Cade   Herald Harbor   Anne Arundel
2014   Kaitlyn Stainaker   Odenton   Anne Arundel
2015   Keith Clemente   Winfield Community   Carroll
2016   Nicholas Aldridge   Maryland City   Anne Arundel
2017   Andrew Eppley   Manchester   Carroll
2018   Noah C. Day   North East   Cecil
William Piercen Madiary
Long Green



Safer Grant Tuition
Reimbursement Program

The Volunteer Trumpet!

Current Issue
of the Trumpet

Read how VCAF can help you.

File Your 2019 MSFA Company Credentials and Statistical Report here!

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program


Recruitment and Retention Grant

Scholarship Grant Form

Recruitment & Retention Toolbox

For more information about joining a local volunteer deparment please call

Subscribe to
MSFA Mailing List

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Un-Subscribe to MSFA Mailing List


Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Maryland State Firemen's Association
Doyle Cox, P.P.
29132 Superior Circle
Easton, MD 21601

Emergency Dial 911
Phone: 443-532-1416
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)