Maryland State Firemen's Association

Future Convention Dates
June 19-25, 2020
June 18-24, 2021

June 12-17, 2022

Executive Committee Meetings
September 21 and 22, 2019
Bay District Volunteer Fire Department

December 7 and 8, 2019
Suderlersville Volunteer Fire Department


November 14, 2019
New Market Volunteers to hold All You Can Eat Breakfast Fundraiser with Santa
November 13, 2019
Executive Committee Meeting - December 7th & 8th, 2019
November 12, 2019
November 12, 2019
Anne Arundel County Volunteer Firefighters Association December Meeting
November 5, 2019
VHC New Years Eve BINGO
View All Announcements

Online Calendar
Next Seven Days
November 17, 2019
Bowling Green Volunteer Fire Department 12420 McMullen Highway, SW, Cumberland, MD. 21502
November 17, 2019
Eastern Shore Volunteer Firemen's Association
Girdletree VFC
November 18, 2019
Cecil County Vol. Firemen's Association
Hacks Point VFC
November 19, 2019
Quarter Auction
Ferndale VFC
November 19, 2019
Wicomico County Volunteer Firemen's Assn
Delmar VFD
November 19, 2019
November 20, 2019
Howard County Volunteer Firemen's Association
Savage VFC
November 20, 2019
Kent - Queen Anne's Volunteer Fire, EMS and Rescue Association
Crumpton VFC
November 21, 2019
Baltimore County Volunteer Firemen's Association
Chestnut Ridge VFC
November 21, 2019
St. Mary's County Fire Board Association
Public Safety Building, 23090 Leonard Hall Rd, Leonardtown, MD
November 21, 2019
Washington County Volunteer Fire and Rescue Association
Sharpsburg Ambulance
November 21, 2019
Frederick County Volunteer Fire and Rescue Association
Guardian Hose
November 21, 2019
Montgomery County Volunteer Fire/Rescue Association
Wheaton Rescue
View All Events

The William E. "Rudy" Radisch Fire Fighter of the Year Memorial Award



Purpose of Award: Outstanding Citizenship and Exemplary Job Achievement


Award SponsorChillum-Adelphi Volunteer Fire Department  


Award Administered By: Maryland State Firemen’s Association Firefighter of the Year Committee
Background:   The Maryland State Firemen’s Association (MSFA) established the Firefighter of the Year Award in 1978, to be presented at the Annual Convention and Conference each year from nominations received from the member department or individuals.  At the December 2, 2018 meeting of the Executive Committee, a proposal was presented by Chillum-Adelphi Volunteer Fire Department to Sponsor the award and renameing it.  The proposal was approved and will be known as THE WILLIAM E. "Rudy" RADISCH FIREFIGHTER OF THE YEAR MEMORIAL AWARD.  Qualified nominations will be judged by the Firefighter of the Year Committee appointed by the President of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association.
            The committee solicits your support in this fine program and asks that you select someone in your department or from a member department of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association for the award.
Award Rules: The rules and guidelines for the Firefighter of the Year Program are as follows:
  1. Nominee must be from a member department of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association.

  2. Any active member of a department of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association may submit the name of a nominee for the award.
  3. Nominations must be submitted on an individual basis only on official letterhead or department stationary with the official MSFA Firefighter of the Year Nomination Form attached.  Form must be signed with title of person submitting the nomination.  A photograph of the nominee shall be submitted with the form.
  4. Nomination must be submitted to the Chairman of the Firefighter of the Year Committee no later than April 15th of each year.   Any late entries will not be considered.  The mailing address for the entries is:
William B. "Bill" Lay, Sr., Chairman,
MSFA Firefighter of the Year Committee
2210 Old Joppa Road
Joppa, MD 21085
  1. Guidelines for selection of nominee:

    1. Outstanding citizenship, i.e., activities by a firefighter to better his/her department and community at large, etc.
    2. Exemplary job achievement, i.e., lecturing at school on fire safety, setting up a program of fire inspections, fund raising, etc.
    3.  This award will be for calendar year only.
NOTE:            This award will not be judged on acts of heroism.  All heroism nominations should be directed to the Colburn Trophy Award.
  1. Awarding of the Firefighter of the Year Plaque and Certificates:

    1. Award to be made at the MSFA Annual Convention and Conference.
    2. Winner to receive large plaque annually
    3. Winner receives the Firefighter of the Year Medal and Ribbon Bar, which was approved by the Executive Committee in 2002.  The ribbon is red and white and the gold medal is inscribed as Firefighter of the Year, with the MSFA Seal in the center.
    4. Awarding of plaque and medal to be made by the President of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association.
    5. Certificates will be presented or mailed to all nominees.
Previous Recipients:


Year   Name Department - County County
1978   Herman E. Rhue Hurlock VFC Dorchester
1979   Richard A. Ayers Community FC, Rising Sun Cecil
1980   James J. Snyder Laytonsville District VFD Baltimore
1981   Eugene L. Worthington, P.P. Level VFC Harford
1981   Joseph G. Burris Church Hill Queen Anne's
1982   Tony Sterling Salisbury VFD #1 Wicomico
1983   Thomas Y. Miller Level VFC Harford
1984   Harry A. Pafel, Jr. Fallston VF&AC Harford
1985   Ted F. Jackson Church Hill Queen Anne's
1986   Diane May Luke VFC Allegany
1987   Rhonda J. Thomas  Level VFC Harford
1988   David C. Leftwich Delta-Cardiff VFC Harford
1989   William J. Dousa, Jr. Joppa-Magnolia VFC Harford
1990   L. Jason Baer Goodwill FC, Maugansville Washington
1991   Francis T. Mowbray, Jr. Barton Hose Allegany
1992   Michael E. Tarquini Level VFC Harford
1993   James Jarboe Takoma Park VFD Montgomery
1994   Steven W. Leatherman Middletown VFC Frederick
1995   Barbara A. Knippenburg Midland VFC Allegany
1996   James “Deacon” Dick Midland VFC Allegany
1997   Francis D. Jester Church Hill VFC Queen Anne's
1998   Joseph Wayne Hardesty Prince Frederick VFD Calvert
1999   Joseph Wayne Hardesty       Prince Frederick VFD Calvert
2000   Joseph Della-Camera Prince Frederick VFD Calvert
2001   James B. Lyons, III Joppa Magnolia Harford
2002   Jeff Williams Indian Head Charles
2003   James E. McClelland Capital Heights Prince George's
2004   Daniel J. Stevens Waldorf Charles
2005   William Hill, Jr. Hollywood St. Mary's
2006   Aimee Cenate Mechanicsville VFD St. Mary's
2007   Derrick E. Lloyd Joppa Magnolia Harford
2008    Christopher Scully Hollywood VFD  St. Mary's 
2009   Jeff Thompson Chestertown  Kent 
2010   Jason Sharp Prince Frederick VFD  Calvert 
2011   Michael Sullivan Hollywood VFD St. Mary's
2012   Daryl T. Benner Sharpsburg Washington
2013   Jared W. Trossbach Leonardtown VFD St. Mary's
2014   Oley G. Griffith First Hose Co. of Boonsboro Washington
2015   Timothy F. Dayton Potomac Allegany
2016   Eddie Tatum Hollywood VFD St. Mary's
2017   Anthony J. Simonetta Odenton  Anne Arundel
2018   David Michael Penhollow North East Fire Co. Cecil


Award Sponsor: Maryland State Firemen’s Association






The Volunteer Trumpet!

Current Issue
of the Trumpet

Read how VCAF can help you.


Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program


Recruitment and Retention Grant

Scholarship Grant Form

Recruitment & Retention Toolbox

For more information about joining a local volunteer deparment please call

Subscribe to
MSFA Mailing List

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Un-Subscribe to MSFA Mailing List


Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Maryland State Firemen's Association
Doyle Cox, P.P.
29132 Superior Circle
Easton, MD 21601

Emergency Dial 911
Phone: 443-532-1416
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)