Maryland State Firemen's Association

Future Convention Dates
June 15-21, 2019
June 19-25, 2020
June 18-24, 2021

Executive Committee Meetings

December 1 & 2, 2018
Snow Hill Volunteer Fire Company, Inc.

February 9 & 10, 2019
United Communities VFD, Queen Anne's County

April 6 & 7, 2019
Friendsville VF&R, Garrett County

May 22, 2019
May 21, 2019
Death Announcement: John Alan Thompson
May 21, 2019
Death Announcement: Raymond Allen Ryan, Jr.
May 16, 2019
URGENT: Missing Auxiliary Credential Forms
May 15, 2019
National Home Fire Sprinkler Week
View All Announcements

Online Calendar
Next Seven Days
May 25, 2019
Carnival at Odenton VFC
Odenton Volunteer Fire Company
May 26, 2019
Carnival at Odenton VFC
Odenton Volunteer Fire Company
May 27, 2019
Carnival at Odenton VFC
Odenton Volunteer Fire Company
May 27, 2019
Union Bridge Fire Co. Carnival
8 West Locust St., Union Bridge, MD
May 28, 2019
Union Bridge Fire Co. Carnival
8 West Locust St., Union Bridge, MD
May 29, 2019
Union Bridge Fire Co. Carnival
8 West Locust St., Union Bridge, MD
May 29, 2019
Harford County Vol. Fire and Ambulance Association
Aberdeen VFC
May 29, 2019
Union bridge Fire Co. Carnival
Union Bridge, MD, Carroll County
May 29, 2019
Garrett County Volunteer Firemen's Association
May 30, 2019
Union Bridge Fire Co. Carnival
8 West Locust St., Union Bridge, MD
May 31, 2019
Union Bridge Fire Co. Carnival
8 West Locust St., Union Bridge, MD
View All Events


Purpose of Award:
Recognition of Fifty (50) Years of Continuous and Faithful Service

Award Sponsor:  Rockville Volunteer Fire Department

Award Administered By:
Maryland State Firemen’s Association Hall of Fame Committee

This award was established by the Rockville Volunteer Fire Department and accepted by the Maryland State Firemen’s Association (MSFA) Executive Committee in 1981 to honor over sixty (60) years of active service performed by charter member, Mr. Marbery F. Gates of Rockville, Montgomery County, Maryland. The initial and first award was presented to Mr. Marbery F. Gates on June 15, 1981, at the 86th Annual Convention of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association. Mr. Gates served on the MSFA Board of Trustees from 1969 through 1989.

Award Rules:

1. The Marbery F. Gates Service Cup is to be awarded to an individual selected by the MSFA as deserving of this honor; such individual is to have at least, but not less than 50 years of continuous and faithful service to organizations within the Association. Individuals nominated must be living prior to the cutoff date of April 15th of the year to be presented. 

2. The Master Cup will have the award date, name, and fire company of the recipient carved thereon and will for one year from date of presentation until the next MSFA Annual Convention, remain in the responsible custody of the honored individual’s fire company. The Personal Cup also suitably endorsed, will be presented to the individual to covet and keep forever. 

3. The individual selected by the Committee will receive the Marbery F. Gates Medal and Ribbon Bar, which was approved by the Executive Committee in 2002. The ribbon is gold with four stripes of purple and the gold medal is inscribed as Marbery F. Gates Award. 

4. Each individual nominated will receive a MSFA Plaque and Governors Citation the first year nominated and any sequential years a MSFA certificate recognizing them for their Continuous and Faithful Service. 

5. The Committee will receive nominations until April 15th. The President of the Rockville Volunteer Fire Department will serve on the selection committee and will be notified no later than May 20th of the individual selected, to allow preparation of the individual trophy and the recording of the individual’s name on the Master Cup. 

6. Nominations in the form of a resume shall be submitted No Later Than April 15th of Each Year to: 

Benjamin W. Kurtz
Vice Chairman
MSFA Hall of Fame Committee
9912 Fox Hill Road
Perry Hall, MD 21128
Year Name                                          Department County
1981 Marbery F. Gates Rockville VFD Montgomery
1982 Leslie B. Thompson, P.P. Damascus/Chestertown Montgomery/Kent
1983 G. Mitchell Boulden, P.P. Singerly, Elkton Cecil
1984 Frank Middleton Pittsville Wicomico
1985 Byron H. Miller Gaithersburg-Washington Grove Montgomery
1986 William Holley Leonardtown St. Mary's
1987 B. Harrison Shipley, Jr., P.P. Ellicott City Haowrd
1988 John R. Williams Delta-Cardiff Harford
1989 Ralph N. Small, Jr., P.P. Boulevard Heights Prince George's
1990 John W. Smith, P.P. West Annapolis Anne Arundel
1991 Henry Harrison Purdy Easton Talbot
1992 Smith N. Stathem, P.P. Pikesville Baltimore
1993 C. Oscar Baker, P.P.  Mt. Airy Carroll
1994 William "Barney" Miller Barton Allegany
1995 Charles B. Burton, P.P. Landover Hills Prince George's
1996 Millard Purcell  Bel Air Harford
1997 David E. Kirk, P.P. Bowling Green Allegany
1998 Bernard D. “Buck” Gladhill Damascus Montgomery
1999 Gerald A. Glaubitz, P.P Morningside Prince George's
Albert Harris, Jr.
Glen Echo VFC Montgomery
2001 William F. Cooke Waldorf VFD Charles
2002 John W. Means, Sr. Pleasant Valley Carroll
2003 Joseph R. Robison, P.P. Laurel VFD Prince George's
2004 William H. Smith, Jr. Luke Allegany
2005 Daniel B. Smith, Sr. Aberdeen Harford
J. Donald Mooney
2007 John W. Berryman, Sr. Pikesville Baltimore
2008 Leonard T. King, Sr., P.P.
Montgomery/Prince George's
2009 Wylie L. Donaldson Odenton Anne Arundel
2010 Thomas Collins Beltsville Prince George's     
2011 .John O. Gatton, Sr. Hollywood VFD St. Mary's
2012 George A. "Fred" Cross, Jr Chestnut Ridge Baltimore
2013 William Olsen Waldorf Charles
2014 Thomas A. Mattingly, Sr. Leonardtown VFD St. Mary's
2015 S. Richard Powell Galena Kent
2016 Gene Worthington, P.P. Level Harford
2017 Daniel J. Stevens Waldorf Charles
2018 Frank J. Underwood Branchville Prince George's






Safer Grant Tuition
Reimbursement Program

The Volunteer Trumpet!

Current Issue
of the Trumpet

Read how VCAF can help you.

File Your 2019 MSFA Company Credentials and Statistical Report here!

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program


Recruitment and Retention Grant

Scholarship Grant Form

Recruitment & Retention Toolbox

For more information about joining a local volunteer deparment please call

Subscribe to
MSFA Mailing List

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Un-Subscribe to MSFA Mailing List


Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Maryland State Firemen's Association
Doyle Cox, P.P.
29132 Superior Circle
Easton, MD 21601

Emergency Dial 911
Phone: 443-532-1416
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)