Maryland State Firemen's Association

Future Convention Dates
June 19-25, 2020
June 18-24, 2021

June 12-17, 2022

Executive Committee Meetings
September 21 and 22, 2019
Bay District Volunteer Fire Department

December 7 and 8, 2019
Suderlersville Volunteer Fire Department

March 28 and 29, 2019
Level Fire Company

July 9, 2019
July 7, 2019
Chestertown VFC's Rescue for Sale
July 7, 2019
Chestertown VFC's Chicken BBQ
July 3, 2019
Parade, Antique Muster and Safety Day
July 2, 2019
View All Announcements

Online Calendar
Next Seven Days
July 24, 2019
Harford County Vol. Fire and Ambulance Association
Bel Air VFC
July 27, 2019
Car, Truck & Motorcycle Show
Brunswick Maryland
July 27, 2019
July 27, 2019
Leitersburg safety day/apparatus display
Leitersburg vol fire dept.
July 28, 2019
MSFA Cancer Committee Meeting
17921 Brooke Road Sandy Spring, Maryland 20860
View All Events


Purpose of Award:

Recognition of the outstanding EMS individual of the year

Award Sponsor:
Maryland State Firemen's Association

Award Administered By:
MSFA Emergency Medical Services Committee and Convention Committee

The Josiah A. Hunt, M.D., (EMS Person Of The Year) Award was established in 1991 and accepted by the Executive Committee.  Doctor Hunt was a local physician in Harford County who was very instrumental in the establishment of ambulance service in that area.  He often would leave his practice to ride on the local ambulances providing quality emergency medical service to the communities of Harford County.  The original award was donated by the Delta-Cardiff Volunteer Fire Company of Harford County to honor Dr. Josiah A. Hunt. 
The award was established to recognize outstanding individual accomplishments by an EMT/A, or above.  The award is considered to be the highest award conferred upon an individual within the Maryland emergency medical services community.
Award Rules:

1. The nominee must be from a member company of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association. 

2. The nominee must be submitted by an active member company of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association (MSFA). 

3. The nominee must be submitted on an individual basis only and the nomination must be on official letterhead or company stationary and signed by at least two (2) officers of the company. 

4. Only one nominee may be submitted from any one member company. 

5. Nominations and letters of resume must be submitted to the Chair of the MSFA Emergency Medical Services Committee, No Later Than April 30th

6. The nominee must be a Maryland certified EMT/A or above. 

7. The nominee must have a minimum of five (5) years of service to the Maryland Emergency Medical Service Community. 

8. Recipient of the award will receive the EMS Person of the Year Medal and Ribbon Bar, which was approved by the Executive Committee in 2002. The ribbon is blue and white and the gold medal is inscribed as “Josiah Hunt EMS Person of the Year”, with the MSFA Seal in the center. 

9. Submit nominations to: William Dousa, Chairman, MSFA EMS Committee, 600 Rivershore Court, Edgewood, MD 21040.

Previous Recipients:
Year Name Department County
1991 Josiah A. Hunt, M.D.    
1992 Sharon Eskins Calvert County ALS Calvert
1993 Leon Hayes Waldorf Charles
1993 Charles W. Wills Potomac Heights Charles
1994 Barbara Knippenburg Midland Alleganey
1995 Dr. Farnk Baranco  Lutherville Baltimore
1995 Richard K. Brooks, III Norrisville Harford
1996 Paul Fabiszak Hereford EMS Baltimore
1997 Lee N. Sachs, P.P. Pikesville Baltimore
1998 Rose M. Murphy Eldorado-Brookview Dorchester
1999 Margaret E. Wedding Ironside RS Charles
2000 Joan Williams Hollywood RS St. Mary's
2001 Steven Kesner Cresaptown Allegany
2002 Linda A. Dousa Abingdon Harford
2003 Jackie Carey Ocean Pines Worcester
2004 Vernon C. Monday Waldorf Charles
2005 William Deer Indian Head Charles
2006 Susan Hubble Mt. Airy Carroll
2007 Brenice Arnold Seventh District VRS St. Mary's
2008 William Dousa Abingdon Harford
2009 Mary H. Grussing Kent and Queen Anne's Rescue Squad Kent
2010 Amy Smith Leonardtown VRS St. Mary's
2011 Richard Farrington Delta-Cardiff Harford
2012 Donald Thomas Darlington Harford
2013 Michael J. Young Oxford Talbot
2014 Susan M. Tingler Abingdon Harford  
2015 Joan F. Raley Seventh District VRS St. Mary's
2016 Barbara J. Wible Hollywood VRS St. Mary's
2017 Elizabeth R. "Beth" Larimore Odenton Anne Arundel
2018 Sherrie M. Sauers Darington Harford







Safer Grant Tuition
Reimbursement Program

The Volunteer Trumpet!

Current Issue
of the Trumpet

Read how VCAF can help you.

File Your 2019 MSFA Company Credentials and Statistical Report here!

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program


Recruitment and Retention Grant

Scholarship Grant Form

Recruitment & Retention Toolbox

For more information about joining a local volunteer deparment please call

Subscribe to
MSFA Mailing List

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Un-Subscribe to MSFA Mailing List


Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Maryland State Firemen's Association
Doyle Cox, P.P.
29132 Superior Circle
Easton, MD 21601

Emergency Dial 911
Phone: 443-532-1416
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)