Maryland State Firemen's Association

Future Convention Dates
June 15-21, 2019
June 19-25, 2020
June 18-24, 2021

Executive Committee Meetings

December 1 & 2, 2018
Snow Hill Volunteer Fire Company, Inc.

February 9 & 10, 2019
United Communities VFD, Queen Anne's County

April 6 & 7, 2019
Friendsville VF&R, Garrett County

May 21, 2019
Death Announcement: John Alan Thompson
May 21, 2019
Death Announcement: Raymond Allen Ryan, Jr.
May 17, 2019
May 16, 2019
URGENT: Missing Auxiliary Credential Forms
May 16, 2019
Meeting Date
View All Announcements

Online Calendar
Next Seven Days
May 22, 2019
Carnival at Odenton VFC
Odenton Volunteer Fire Company
May 23, 2019
Carnival at Odenton VFC
Odenton Volunteer Fire Company
May 24, 2019
Carnival at Odenton VFC
Odenton Volunteer Fire Company
May 25, 2019
Carnival at Odenton VFC
Odenton Volunteer Fire Company
May 26, 2019
Carnival at Odenton VFC
Odenton Volunteer Fire Company
May 27, 2019
Carnival at Odenton VFC
Odenton Volunteer Fire Company
May 27, 2019
Union Bridge Fire Co. Carnival
8 West Locust St., Union Bridge, MD
May 28, 2019
Union Bridge Fire Co. Carnival
8 West Locust St., Union Bridge, MD
View All Events

Robert H. Shimer Administrator of the Year Award

Purpose of Award: Recognition of the Outstanding Fire, Rescue or EMS Administrative Person

Award Sponsor:  Shimer Family
Award Administered By: Robert H. Shimer Administrative Person of the Year Award Committee  
Background: The Robert H. Shimer Administrator of the Year award was established by the Shimer family and accepted by the Maryland State Firemen’s Association (MSFA) Executive Committee on February 22, 2004.  The award was established to honor Robert H. Shimer, for the years of dedicated service he gave the Volunteer Fire, Rescue and EMS Service as a President and a Trustee of the Maryland State Firemen's Association.  President of the Allegan-Garrett Counties Fire and Rescue Association, President of the Allegany County Fire-Rescue Board and President of the Potomac Fire Company.  Mr. Shimer was also an active member of the State Fire Prevention Commission, Maryland Fire-Rescue Education Training Commission, the Governor’s Emergency Management Advisory Council and the Emergency Numbers Service Board.  This award has been established in honor of Mr. Shimer for his many years of dedicated service to the community of Westernport, Allegany County and the State of Maryland.
Award Rules:

1. The nominee must be a volunteer from a member company that is in good standing with the Maryland State Firemen’s Association 

2. Name of individual for nomination for the Robert H. Shimer Administrator of the Year Award may be submitted by: 

a. The nominee’s home fire, rescue, or EMS department/company on official letterhead, or 

b. Any individual in good standing with a fire, rescue, or EMS department/company, or 

c. A member company in good standing with the MSFA, on official letterhead, or 

d. An individual member of this committee or a Past President of the MSFA. 

3. The nominee must have not less than ten (10) years of service with his/her department or company. 

4. The nomination must be submitted for an individual’s effort only and, therefore, submission of the nomination is to recognize the one individual and not a group, department or company. 

5. The nomination must be submitted in the form of a resume/bio. Including information on his/her department or company activities, administrative positions held within the company or department, county, regional or state association. Information should also be included on job achievement, establishment or programs, fund raising, community activities, and the reason the nominee should be elected. 

6. Time Period – Although it is realized that to be fully effective, an award should be timely, it is not necessary that the service or performance be rendered within the year of the award, however an accumulation of the previous five years of accomplishments may be added. 

7. The nomination must be mailed and received by the Shimer Award Committee No Later than May 1st at the following address: Robert W. Jacobs, Chairman, Shimer Award Committee, 410 East Ninth Street, Frederick, MD 2170.

8. The Award will be presented at the MSFA Annual Convention and Conference.  Upon selection of the winner of the award, the Shimer family shall be notified no later than May 20th of said selection.  This will allow preparation of the award that will be given.
 Previous Recipients:





2005 Leonard T. King, Sr., P.P. Damascus Montgomery
2006 Daniel J. Stevens Waldorf Charles
2007 Ronald J. Siarnicki Community United Queen Anne's
2008 Philip M. Hurlock, P.P. Church Hill Queen Anne's
2009 Gayle P. Moreland Deale Anne Arundel
2010 Louis Jonske Joppa-Magnolia Harford
2011 Gene Worthington, P.P. Level VFC Harford
2012 Benjamin W. Kurtz Jarrettsville Harford
2013 Kenneth "Ken" May LaVale VRS Allegany
2014 Robert W. Jacobs, P.P. Citizens Truck Company Frederick
2015 Gloria Lewis Rivera Beach Anne Arundel
2016 Timothy F. Dayton Potomac Alleganey
2017 Craig B. Harman Odenton Anne Arundel
2018 Wylie D. Donaldson, Jr. Odenton Anne Arundel









Safer Grant Tuition
Reimbursement Program

The Volunteer Trumpet!

Current Issue
of the Trumpet

Read how VCAF can help you.

File Your 2019 MSFA Company Credentials and Statistical Report here!

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program


Recruitment and Retention Grant

Scholarship Grant Form

Recruitment & Retention Toolbox

For more information about joining a local volunteer deparment please call

Subscribe to
MSFA Mailing List

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Un-Subscribe to MSFA Mailing List


Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Maryland State Firemen's Association
Doyle Cox, P.P.
29132 Superior Circle
Easton, MD 21601

Emergency Dial 911
Phone: 443-532-1416
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)