Maryland State Firemen's Association

Future Convention Dates
June 19-25, 2020
June 18-24, 2021

June 12-17, 2022

Executive Committee Meetings
September 21 and 22, 2019
Bay District Volunteer Fire Department

December 7 and 8, 2019
Suderlersville Volunteer Fire Department


November 14, 2019
New Market Volunteers to hold All You Can Eat Breakfast Fundraiser with Santa
November 13, 2019
Executive Committee Meeting - December 7th & 8th, 2019
November 12, 2019
November 12, 2019
Anne Arundel County Volunteer Firefighters Association December Meeting
November 5, 2019
VHC New Years Eve BINGO
View All Announcements

Online Calendar
Next Seven Days
November 17, 2019
Bowling Green Volunteer Fire Department 12420 McMullen Highway, SW, Cumberland, MD. 21502
November 17, 2019
Eastern Shore Volunteer Firemen's Association
Girdletree VFC
November 18, 2019
Cecil County Vol. Firemen's Association
Hacks Point VFC
November 19, 2019
Quarter Auction
Ferndale VFC
November 19, 2019
Wicomico County Volunteer Firemen's Assn
Delmar VFD
November 19, 2019
November 20, 2019
Howard County Volunteer Firemen's Association
Savage VFC
November 20, 2019
Kent - Queen Anne's Volunteer Fire, EMS and Rescue Association
Crumpton VFC
November 21, 2019
Baltimore County Volunteer Firemen's Association
Chestnut Ridge VFC
November 21, 2019
St. Mary's County Fire Board Association
Public Safety Building, 23090 Leonard Hall Rd, Leonardtown, MD
November 21, 2019
Washington County Volunteer Fire and Rescue Association
Sharpsburg Ambulance
November 21, 2019
Frederick County Volunteer Fire and Rescue Association
Guardian Hose
November 21, 2019
Montgomery County Volunteer Fire/Rescue Association
Wheaton Rescue
View All Events


Purpose of Award: Recognition of fire prevention efforts by an individual.

Award Sponsor: Silver Spring Volunteer Fire Department, Inc.

Award Administered By:
M.S.F.A. Fire Prevention Committee and Maryland State Fire Marshal's Office
The Silver Spring Trophy was established in 1981 by the Silver Spring Volunteer Fire Department and accepted by the Executive Committee.  This award is presented each year at the MSFA Annual Convention to an individual who does the most in fire prevention for his/her community.  The award is for an individual effort and, therefore, submission of the entry must be for one individual rather than a group or department effort.  The intent of the award is to recognize fire prevention activities which the individual performs within his/her community.  The trophy is held by the individual for one year and then passed on.  The winner will receive an individual plaque for permanent possession.
Award Rules:

1. The recipient must be a volunteer firefighter. 

2. The individual must be nominated by the fire department/company. 

3. The fire prevention work shall have been done by the firefighter acting in the capacity of a volunteer. 

4. The nomination must be in the form of a resume indicating complete detailed information on the work done by the nominee. Photographs and newspaper clippings must be dated and the sources noted. 

5. The nomination and related information must be in the hands of the State Fire Marshal’s Office No Later Than April 30th

6. Nominees are subject to investigation by the judges. 

7. Dates of the fire prevention activities should cover the previous calendar year (January – December). 

8. Judges shall be appointed by the State Fire Marshal’s Office, in accordance with the MSFA Fire Prevention Committee’s procedures. 

9. The decision of the judges shall be final.

10. Nominations must include the nominees name, title, fire department name, and other pertinent information. 

11. Nominations shall be submitted to: MSFA Annual Fire Prevention Contest, State Fire Marshal’s Office 

Previous Recipients:
Year   Name   Department  County
1957   Vincent Napoli   Gaithersburg-Washington Grove Montgomery
1958   Edgar Young   La Vale Allegany
1959   Alvin R. Adkins   Delmar Wicomico
1960   J. Clinton Duke   Leonardtown St. Mary's
1961   J. Clinton Duke   Leonardtown St. Mary's
1962   John Mowatt, Jr.   Bladensburg Prince George's
1963   J. Clinton Duke   Leonardtown St. Mary's
1964   Charles Forwood   Bowleys Quarters Baltimore
1965   Robert A. Smith   West Lanham Hills Prince George's
1966   Joseph G. Wenrich   Greenbelt Prince George's
1967   Oeville G. Faulker, Jr.   Lansdowne Baltimore
1968   Thomas A. Mattingly, Sr.   Leonardtown St. Mary's
1969   Thomas A. Mattingly, Sr.   Leonardtown St. Mary's
1970   Thomas A. Mattingly, Sr.   Leonardtown St. Mary's
1971   Thomas A. Mattingly, Sr.   Leonardtown St. Mary's
1972   Paul W. Piker   North Point - Edgemere Baltimore
1973   Paul W. Piker   North Point - Edgemere Bltimore
1974   Ralph N. Dull   Manchester Carroll
1975   Burton A. Clark   Laurel Prince George's
1976   Roger Mattingly   Leonardtown St. Mary's
1977   R. Alan Ryan, Jr.   Perryville Cecil
1978   Gary Zour   Providence  Baltimore
1979   Edward T. Clopper   Funkstown Washington
1980   Frank P. March   English Consul Baltimore
1981   Robert Twilly   Delmar Wicomico
1982   Not Awarded      
1983   Not Awarded      
1984   C. Daniel Davis, Jr., P.P.   Hollywood St. Mary's
1985   Faye Reider   Perryville Cecil
1986   Judith White   Guardian Hose Frederick
1987   Donald C. Brightwell   Mt. Airy Carroll
1988   Thomas A. Mattingly, Jr.   Leonardtown St. Mary's
1989   Thomas A. Mattingly, Jr.   Leonardtown St. Mary's
1990   Charlotte A. Mandrafos   Baden Prince George's
1991   Cindy Tarouini   Level Harford
1992   Brian Boyd   Indian Head Charles
1993   Rhonda Polk   Level  Harford
1994   Brian Boyd   Indian Head Charles
1995   Eugene Mellon   Mt. Airy Carroll
1996   Denise Hampton   Bay District St. Mary's
1997   Joseph Wayne Hardesty   Prince Frederick Calvert
1998   Joseph Wayne Hardesty   Prince Frederick Calvert
1999   Bridget Timberman   Gamber Carroll
2000   Jeffery Williams   Indian Head Charles
2001   Harold Younger   Mechanicsville St. Mary's
2002   James Jarboe   Takoma Park Montgomery
2003   Diane May   Luke Allegany
2004   Debbie Gatrell-Kemp   Winfield Community Carroll
2005   Jeffery Williams   Indian Head Charles
2006   Jeffery Williams   Indian Head Charles
2007   Lauren Johnson   Bay District St. Mary's
2008   Christine Flanagan   Sykesville Freedom Diastrict Carroll
2009   Jeff Williams   Indian Head Charles
2010   Melissa Gould   Bay District St. Mary's
2011   Debbie Gartrell   Winfield Community Carroll
2012   Debbie Gartrell   Winfield Community Carroll
2013   Christopher Ayers   Middletown Frederick
2014   Robert "RJ" Grace   Community Fire Co of Resing Sun Cecil
2015   Debbie Gartrell   Winfield Community Carroll
2016   Elyssa Cool   Frederick County Fire and Rescue Association Frederick
2017   Melvin Tennyson   Bay District  St. Mary's
2018   Thomas H. Swann   La Plata  Charles








The Volunteer Trumpet!

Current Issue
of the Trumpet

Read how VCAF can help you.


Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program


Recruitment and Retention Grant

Scholarship Grant Form

Recruitment & Retention Toolbox

For more information about joining a local volunteer deparment please call

Subscribe to
MSFA Mailing List

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Un-Subscribe to MSFA Mailing List


Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Maryland State Firemen's Association
Doyle Cox, P.P.
29132 Superior Circle
Easton, MD 21601

Emergency Dial 911
Phone: 443-532-1416
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)