Maryland State Firemen's Association

Future Convention Dates
June 19-25, 2020
June 18-24, 2021

June 12-17, 2022

Executive Committee Meetings
September 21 and 22, 2019
Bay District Volunteer Fire Department

December 7 and 8, 2019
Suderlersville Volunteer Fire Department

March 28 and 29, 2019
Level Fire Company

July 9, 2019
July 7, 2019
Chestertown VFC's Rescue for Sale
July 7, 2019
Chestertown VFC's Chicken BBQ
July 3, 2019
Parade, Antique Muster and Safety Day
July 2, 2019
View All Announcements

Online Calendar
Next Seven Days
July 24, 2019
Harford County Vol. Fire and Ambulance Association
Bel Air VFC
July 27, 2019
Car, Truck & Motorcycle Show
Brunswick Maryland
July 27, 2019
July 27, 2019
Leitersburg safety day/apparatus display
Leitersburg vol fire dept.
July 28, 2019
MSFA Cancer Committee Meeting
17921 Brooke Road Sandy Spring, Maryland 20860
View All Events


Purpose of Award:
Recognition of an individuals contributions toward firefighter/EMS safety.

Award Sponsor:
The family of Smith N. Stathem, Jr.  “Smitty” as he was affectionately known was a Past President of the MSFA, Past President of the Baltimore County Volunteer Firemen’s Association, and Past Chief of the Pikesville Volunteer Fire Company.
Award Administered By:
MSFA Safety Committee
The Smith N. Stathem, Jr. Memorial Safety Award is established in 1998 by the MSFA Safety Committee and the family of Past President Stathem.  The award was accepted by the Executive Committee in 1997.  This award is to be presented each year at the MSFA Annual Convention and Conference to an individual who does the most to promote firefighter/EMS safety within his/her department/company.  The award is for an individual effort and, therefore, submission of the entry must be for one individual rather than a group effort.  The intent of the award is to promote safety within the member departments and to encourage the safety officer program.  The trophy is held for one year and relinquished at the following MSFA Convention and Conference.  At that time, the past- year recipient will receive an individual plaque for permanent possession.
Award Rules:

1. The nominee must be a member of an organization that is a member of the MSFA. 

2. The submission must be on the official MSFA Nomination Form and include the name and contact information on the person recommending the nominee in the space provided. The Company Chief or President must sign the “endorsed by” line of the form. 

3. The nomination must include complete detailed information on the efforts performed by the individual during the previous calendar year. Supporting exhibits and documentation must be submitted in detail. 

4. The nomination package must be submitted to the MSFA Safety Committee on later than May 1st

5. Judges appointed by the Safety Committee, shall be comprised of non-affiliated representatives from the safety industry. 

6. All nominations are subject to investigation by the Safety Committee and Judges. 

7. A Safety Committee member can nominate any member of MSFA. 

8. MSFA Safety Committee members are not eligible to be nominated for the award. 

9. Submit your nominations to Chairperson of the MSFA Safety Committee. 

Previous Recipients
Year   Name   Department   County
1999   Joseph Zienda   Bay District   St. Mary's
2000   J.P. Caulder   Bay District   St. Mary's
2001   Philip R. Cooper   Ridge   St. Mary's
2002   Wayne Higdon   Indian Head   Charles
2003   William Van Arsdale   Fallston   Harford
2004   John T. Durrer   Waldorf   Charles
2005   George Ghiess   Falston   Harford
2006   Thomas L. Flint, II   Landover Hills   Prince George's
2007   Charles Pembelton   Waldorf   Charles
2008   Mark A. Gorham   Susquehanna   Harford
2009   Mark Buhl   Bay District   St. Mary's
2010   Daniel J. Stevens   Waldorf   Charles
2011   Douglas Alexander   Mt. Airy   Carroll
2012   Timothy Holt   Fallston   Harford
2013   Kenneth Sanner   Fallston   Harford
2014   Dave Vangasbeck   Waldorf   Charles
2015   Francis J. Raley   Ridge VFD   St. Mary's
2016   Phillip R. Cooper   Ridge VFD   St. Mary's
2017   Francis J. Raley   Ridge VFD   St. Mary's
2018   James E. Jarboe   Takoma Park   Montgomery
2019   Tony Bennett   Aberdeen   Harford





Safer Grant Tuition
Reimbursement Program

The Volunteer Trumpet!

Current Issue
of the Trumpet

Read how VCAF can help you.

File Your 2019 MSFA Company Credentials and Statistical Report here!

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program

Lighthouse Uniform Bereavement Program


Recruitment and Retention Grant

Scholarship Grant Form

Recruitment & Retention Toolbox

For more information about joining a local volunteer deparment please call

Subscribe to
MSFA Mailing List

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Un-Subscribe to MSFA Mailing List


Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Maryland State Firemen's Association
Doyle Cox, P.P.
29132 Superior Circle
Easton, MD 21601

Emergency Dial 911
Phone: 443-532-1416
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)